Police arrest 11 cultists in Ogun

DSP Abimbola Oyeyemi

Ogun Police Command spokesperson, Abimbola Oyeyemi:

By Ige Adekunle

The Ogun Police Command on Sunday announced the arrest of eleven alleged cultists in the state’s Ado-Odo/Ota Local Government, Sango-Ota.

SP Abimbola Oyeyemi, the police spokesperson said in a statement that the suspects were arrested on Oct.11.

The eleven suspects include Moshood Owolabi, Olayemi Arukudu, Yusuf Olajide, Ibukun Adeoye, Yomi Samson, Faruk Salami, Olukunde Isaac, David Nwuzor, Nwanah Samuel, Ogunrinde Ganiyu and Chukwuemeka.

He explained that they were arrested following information received by policemen at Sango-Ota Divisional Headquarters.

It partly read; “The suspects, who are responsible for a series of cult clashes in Sango Ota and its environs in recent times, are meeting in a house at NO. 13, Ago Adura Street Ijoko, Ota in preparation for another round of violent attack.

Related News

“On getting the information, the Divisional Police Officer (DPO) Sango Ota Division, SP Saleh Dahiru, mobilized his personnel with men of Amotekun and Nigerian Security and Civil Defense Corps (NSCDC) and moved to the scene where seven members of the group were apprehended while others escaped.

“Four others were arrested with the assistance of members of the community, “he said.

Oyeyemi said the suspects all confessed to being members of the Aiye Cult Group and recovered from them weeds suspected to be Indian hemp, Colorado and Bonky.

Lanre Bankole, the state Commissioner of Police, has directed that the suspects should be transferred to the anti-cultist unit of the state Criminal Investigation Department for discreet investigation and diligent prosecution.


Load more