Karim Benzema in pole position to secure Ballon d'Or

Karim Benzema

Karim Benzema in pole position to secure Ballon d'Or

Karim Benzema, Thibaut Courtois, and Gavi are set to return from their trip to Paris with gold and, in the process, add some much-needed luster to Spain’s LaLiga Santander.

The Frenchman will win the Ballon d’Or, while his teammate Courtois is predicted to win the Yashin Trophy, which recognizes last season’s best goalkeeper.

Pedri will also see his teammate Gavi succeed him in claiming the Kopa Trophy, which is given to the best young player in the world.

The likes of Sadio Mane, Robert Lewandowski and Kylian Mbappe, were expected to challenge Benzema for the top honor, though France Football magazine and its jury ultimately deemed their respective seasons weren’t as comprehensive as that of the Real Madrid striker’s.

Benzema is now one of the greatest footballers in history. The striker helped his Real Madrid team to a historic Champions League and LaLiga Santander double.

Related News

The end of the Messi-Cristiano era

Apart from Luka Modric’s win in 2018, the Ballon d’Or has been dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, with their dominance dating back to 2008. While Lewandowski was unlucky to miss out on the award in 2020, due to its cancellation following the COVID-19 pandemic, Benzema’s ascent to the top is a welcome breath of fresh air.

While Benzema was last season’s Pichichi trophy winner with 27 goals, and the top scorer in the Champions League with 15 goals, it was his leadership that set him apart. Following Ronaldo’s 2018 departure the Frenchman has been at his best.

Courtois claimed the FIFA Golden Glove award at the 2018 World Cup. Previous winners of the Yashin include Alisson Becker and Gianluigi Donnarumma with the award only being in existence for three years now.

Mbappe, Matthijs de Ligt, and Pedri are the previous winners of the Kopa trophy.

Load more