CAF Champions League: N292m awaits Bayelsa Queens


The Bayelsa Queens

The Nigerian women’s football league champions Bayelsa Queens can be N292 million richer if they win the 2022 CAF Women’s Champions League which begins on Oct. 30 in Morocco.

The Yenagoa-based club side are representing Nigeria in the competition’s second edition which ends on Nov. 13.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF), organisers of the competition, announced the League’s prize money structure on Wednesday.

The winners of the competition will take home 400,000 US dollars, which translates to N292 million when converted at the unofficial rate of N730 to one dollar in Nigeria.

The competition’s runners-up will earn 250,000 dollars, while the two losing semi-finalists will each receive 200,000 dollars.

CAF launched the Women’s Champions League in 2021 with the first edition played in Cairo, Egypt in November where South Africa’s Mamelodi Sundowns emerged as winners.

This was after defeating Ghana’s Hasaacas Ladies 2-0.

Nigeria’s representatives in that maiden edition of the competition, Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt, failed to advance beyond the group stage.

Related News

Bayelsa Queens have already been drawn in this year’s competition’s Group B alongside Mamelodi Sundowns, Wadi Degla of Egypt, and TP Mazembe of the Democratic Republic of Congo.


Winners: 400,000 dollars

Runners-up: 250,000 dollars

Semi-finalists(2): 200,000 dollars

Third Place in Group(2): 150,000 dollars

Fourth Place in Group(2): 100,000 dollars

Load more