Oyo Speaker wins Ibarapa East State Constituency Election


Debo Ogundoyin, Speaker of the Oyo House of Assembly

By Oluwaseyi Oduneye-Ogunwomoju

The Speaker of Oyo State House of Assembly, Mr Adebo Ogundoyin has been re-elected to represent Ibarapa East State Constituency in the Assembly.

Prof. John Oladeji, the INEC Returning Officer, announced the result of the election on Sunday in Ibadan.

Ogundoyin of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 10,039 votes to defeat 12 other candidates.

He said that the APC candidate, Aderounmu Adeolu got 7,111 votes while the Accord Party candidate, Oladeni Tunde scored 2,724 votes.

“Having scored the highest number of votes in the Ibarapa East State Constituency election, Ogundoyin is hereby declared the winner of the election,” Oladeji said.

In his reaction, the Speaker expressed appreciation to the people in the constituency for re-electing him.

Related News

“Our people have spoken with their votes. It is their victory, it is their decision. The people of Ibarapa East state constituency have given us their mandate once again hence I am overwhelmed and happy. This is God’s doing and it is marvellous in my sight. To the Lord be the glory,” he said.

The Speaker added that voters have again demonstrated their love for him, Gov. Seyi Makinde and the Peoples Democratic Party through their massive votes

“This is a great sacrifice from our people. It is another trust bestowed on us by our people and the party and we shall again hold and see it as sacred,” he said.

Ogundoyin said that this would be his third term as a member of the Oyo State House of Assembly.

“I’m humbled and honoured as another opportunity has come for me to serve my people and bring more development and infrastructure to them. I won the election in 2015 and 2019 and it is another success story in 2023.

“My mission is to continue to give quality representation to my constituency such that will make life easier and meaningful for them,” Ogundoyin said.


Load more