Fuel subsidy removal: FG okays N5bn as palliative for each state


Shettima presides over NEC meeting

By Kazeem Ugbodaga

The Federal Government has announced that it will give each state of the federation N5 billion as palliatives following the removal of fuel subsidy.

The decision was arrived at on Thursday at the National Economic Council attended by governors of the 36 states of the federation.

The money is to cushion the effect of fuel subsidy removal by the federal government.

Borno State Governor, Babagana Zulum disclosed this to newsmen after the NEC meeting piloted over by the Vice President, Kashim Shettima in Abuja.

The Federal Capital Territory will also receive N5 billion as palliatives.

Zulum said the move was part of measures to bring temporary solutions to the high cost of living caused by the subsidy removal as government continued to work with more enduring programme.

Related News

The governor added that states were to purchase 100,000 bags of rice and beans among other items, saying that each of the states is also to receive five trucks of rice.

Zulum stated that it was agreed at the NEC meeting that the frontier states bordering Niger Republic were to be assisted with more palliative materials than other states, considering the influx of refugees into their domains from the troubled neighbouring country.

Governors who attended the NEC meeting on Thursday are: Abdulrahman Abdulrazak (Kwara), Hope Uzodinma (Imo), Inuwa Yahya (Gombe) Dauda Lawal (Zamfara), Dr. Alex Otti (Abia), Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos) and Ademola Adeleke (Osun).

There also Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom), Prince Bassey Otu (Cross River), Lucky Aiyedatiwa (Ondo State acting governor), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Ahmad Aliu (Sokoto), Agbu Kefas (Taraba), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Peter Mbah (Enugu), Process Babagana Zulum (Borno).

Others are Senator Bala Mohammed (Bauchi), Senator Uba Sani(Kaduna), Sheriff Obrevwori (Delta), Prof. Charles Soludo (Anambra), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Yahaya Bello (Kogi) and Umaru Namadi (Jigawa).

Deputy governors of Katsina, Rivers, Yobe, Adamawa, Kano, Kebbi also participated in the meeting.

Load more