CAF announces host nations for AFCON 2025, 2027



By Muhyideen Jimoh/Abuja

Morocco will host 2025 AFCON, while a joint bid from Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania got the nod for the 2027 AFCON, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) said today.

At their voting  at the Cairo Marriott Hotel in Egypt on Wednesday, the Executive Committee of CAF announced the North Africans and East Africans as hosts for the 2025, 2027 editions.

A joint bid by Nigeria and Benin Republic to host the 2025 or 2027 AFCON did not make the cut.

Related News

Nigeria hosted the competition in 1980 and co-hosted with Ghana in 2000.

Morocco won the hosting right by garnering 22 votes, after Algeria, Zambia withdrew before the voting.

CAF also unveiled the joint bid from Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania, as the winning bid for 2027 fiesta, after second round of voting.

Morocco will be hosting the AFCON for the second time, after it hosted in 1988 while Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania will be hosting for the first time

Load more