CAF Awards: Nigerians celebrate Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie


Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie at CAF 2023

By Taiwo Okanlawon

Nigerians have taken to their various social media platforms to celebrate Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie, and the Super Falcons for scooping the major CAF 2023 awards in Morocco.

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala won the biggest individual awards at the CAF Awards 2023 in the Moroccan city of Marrakech on Monday night, 11 December 2023.

Osimhen, the Nigerian striker who made headlines in Italy and also for his contribution to the Super Eagles jersey, won the CAF African Player of the Year for the first time, while his compatriot, Oshoala, won her record sixth CAF African Women’s Player of the Year.

Osimhen’s remarkable journey saw him fend off stiff competition from Moroccan full-back Achraf Hakimi and Egyptian striker Mohammed Salah.

Nigerian icon Oshoala secured the CAF Women’s Player of the Year for a record sixth time. The attacker’s dominance continued as she inspired Barcelona to Champions League glory, finishing as the club’s top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.

Chiamaka Nnadozie was crowned the CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year for 2023. Nnadozie beat fellow goalkeepers in the form of Moroccan shot-stopper Khadija El-Rmichi and South Africa’s Andile Olaminii, while Nigeria won the Women’s National Team of the Year award.

The ultimate winners in each category were decided through a voting process involving a panel comprising the CAF Technical Committee, Head Coaches, National Team captains, and media professionals.

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

To honour the athletics, Nigerians have taken to various social media platforms to celebrate them, showering them with encomiums and prayers.


Load more