Asake, Adekunle Gold, Spyro nominated for TikTok Creator Awards



By Taiwo Okanlawon

Nigerian superstars Asake, Adekunle Gold, Spyro are among creators nominated at the second edition of the Sub-Saharan Africa TikTok Creator Awards which is set to be held in South Africa.

The award ceremony honours the achievements and creativity of creators and also provides a glimpse into the future of media and entertainment in Africa.

In a statement on Tuesday, Bianca Sibiya, head of content operations for TikTok in Sub-Saharan Africa, said the platform “champions creativity and connects people”.

She added that the award show aims to “empower the next generation of talent”.

“TikTok champions creativity and connects people globally. Our platform empowers anyone to become a creator and share their stories,” she said.

“These awards are designed to inspire, guide, and empower the next generation of talent to take Africa to the world.”

To arrive at the full nominations list, TikTok users were asked to vote for their favorite creators in a poll on the platform in December 2023.

The shortlisted creators were then selected by public vote and the help of a TikTok judging panel.

The 2023 TikTok Creator Awards will take place on Friday, February 9, 2024, at Vodaword in Midrand, Johannesburg, South Africa.

Sports creator of the year in Sub-Saharan Africa

Nezcatt (South Africa)

Stoneavenuee (Nigeria)

Gaming creator of the year in Sub-Saharan Africa


Khalamanja_ (Nigeria)

_someothergirl (Kenya)

Tacticalceza (Nigeria)

Entertainment creator of the year in Sub-Saharan Africa

Sachi_himes96 (South Africa)

Lifestory328 (Kenya)

Lifestyle and Education creator of the year in Sub-Saharan Africa

Foodstakenya (Kenya)

_iremide (Nigeria)

SiyaBunny (South Africa)

Trailblazer of the year in Sub-Saharan Africa

OfficialKinuthia (Kenya)

Olaoflagos_ (Nigeria)

Related News

Africa Rising creator of the year in Sub-Saharan Africa


Afrolecia (Haircare South Africa)

Nairobidisclosure (Food Kenya)

Publisher of the Year in Sub-Saharan Africa

PulseNigeria247 (Nigeria)

Startimeskenya (Kenya)

Foodiesofsa (South Africa)

WWTaste (South Africa)

PulseSports (Nigeria)

jointribe_gg (Nigeria)

Netflixnigeria (Nigeria)

Song of the Year in Sub-Saharan Africa

Tyler ICU, DJ Maphorisa, Nandipha808, Ceeka RSA, Tyron & Tumelo Za – ‘Mnike’

Inkabi Zezwe, Sjava & Big Zulu – ‘Umbayimbayi’

Uncle Waffles, Tony Duardo, Pcee, EeQue, Chley & Justin 99 – ‘Yahyuppiyah’

Guchi & Loud Behaviour – ‘Notice Me’

Pcee, S’gija Disciples, Justin 99, Mema Percent, MrJazziQ & Zan’Ten – ‘Kilimanjaro’

Khaid & Boy Spyce – ‘Carry Me Go (Sped Up)’

Khaid – ‘Anabella (Sped Up)’

Asake – ‘Lonely At the Top’

Spyro – ‘Who is Your Guy’

Adekunle Gold & Zinoleesky – ‘Party No Dey Stop’

Jux & Diamond Platnumz – ‘Enjoy’

Jay Melody – ‘Sawa’

Platform TZ – ‘Wivu’

Alikiba – ‘Mahaba’

Bruce Africa – ‘You’

Load more