By-elections: INEC presents certificates of return Wednesday



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Wednesday present Certificates of Return to newly elected lawmakers from the Feb. 3 re-run and by-elections, the commission has said.

The commission said this in a statement by Sam Olumekun, National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee in Abuja on Tuesday.

Olumekun said that the certificate presentation for the newly elected members of the National Assembly would be held by 2 p.m. at the commission’s Headquarters in Abuja.

According to him, the newly elected federal lawmakers comprise three Senators and 15 members of the House of Representatives, while the state lawmakers are 27.

Olumekun added that the presentation of certificates of return to the state lawmakers-elect would be conducted by the Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) in the respective states, where the by-elections or re-run elections took place.

“These presentations are to be arranged by the RECs and are expected to be completed by the end of this week. Elected members are encouraged to liaise with the RECs for further details.

Related News

“Additionally, detailed results from these elections are now available for public view on the Commission’s official website and social media channels,’’ he said.

INEC on Saturday conducted legislative by-elections and re-run elections across the country.

Seven political parties won 45 seats in both the National and State Houses of Assembly.

The parties are Action Democratic Party (ADP), All Progressives Congress (APC), All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

For the Senate ADC won one seat, APC-two; for House of Rep: APC won seven, LP-one, PDP-five, YPP-three, while for State Assembly, APC 11, APGA-one, NNPP-three, PDP- 10 and YPP-one.


Load more