EFCC grills 11 suspected oil thieves in Lagos

11 oil robbs

The 11 suspected oil thieves

By Ayorinde Oluokun/Abuja

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC said its operatives have begun the investigation of a vessel and its 11 crew members arrested on February 7, 2024, by the Nigerian Navy over alleged involvement in illegal oil bunkering and Automatic Identification System (AIS) infractions at Abo Oilfield, Ogogoro Community, Ondo State.

The Nigerian Navy, NNS Beecroft, Apapa, Lagos handed the 11 suspected oil thieves and the vessel, MT SAISNIL II, to the EFCC after they were arrested, Dele Oyewale, spokesperson for the anti-graft agency said in a statement.

Related News

The suspects were identified as Jimoh Olusola, Akinrodoye Tobias, Idolor Ogun, Blessed Udoh Michael, Fineface Zorte, Victor Ime Edem, Shofela Bode, Adejokun Taiye Emmanuel, Golden A. Javan, Yekini Lukman, and Ajayi Oluwole in the statement.

EFCC said the suspects will be charged to court as soon as investigations are concluded.

Load more