Ondo 2024: Aiyedatiwa wins APC ticket amidst protests

Aiyedatiwa 1

Governor Aiyedatiwa of Ondo

…Aiyedatiwa polled 48, 569 votes to defeat 15 other aspirants

By Alaba Olusola Oke

Lucky Aiyedatiwa, the incumbent governor of Ondo State has been declared the winner of the All Progressives Congress governorship ticket for the Ondo 2024 governorship election amidst protests and cries of foul play by other aspirants

Aiyedatiwa was announced as the winner of the primary election conducted to determine the winner of the election to be held in November 2024 early Monday morning.

A total of 16 aspirants contested in the primary held between Saturday and Sunday.

Other aspirants that participated in the primary are: Mr Isaac Kekemeke, Mr Olusoji Ehinlanwo, Mr Olugbenga Edema , Sen. Jimoh Ibrahim, Mr Diran Iyantan; Prof. Dayo Faduyile, Mr Ifeoluwa Oyedele.

Others are Mrs Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo, Mr Adewale Akinterinwa; Mr Olusola Oke, Mr Ohunyeye Felix; Mr Morayo Lebi, Mrs Judith Omogoroye and Mr Jimi Odimayo.

The final result of the primary was announced in Akure by the Chairman of the election committee Usman Ododo.

Ododo who is also the governor of Kogi State, announced collated results from 17 out of the 18 Local Government Areas of Ondo State.

According to him, Aiyedatiwa polled 48, 569 votes to defeat 15 other aspirants who contested the primary election

He added that former deputy speaker in the state, Mayowa Akinfolarin, came second with 15,343 votes, while Chief Olusola Oke secured the third position with 14,865 votes.

Olusola Oke, SAN, was placed third with 14,195 votes.

Related News

According to the chairman of the election committee, Aiyedatiwa won in 16 out of the 18 local government areas of the state while Oke won in one

He said that there was no voting in Ifedore Local Government Area as a result of widespread violence and threat to life.

Ododo said that Aiyedatiwa having satisfied the requirement of the law and scored the highest vote was the winner.

About 171,922 members of the party were revalidated to vote in 203 wards in the 18 local government areas of the state.

Contrary to the claims of some of the aspirants, the Kogi State Governor described the primary election as peaceful.
He urged the aspirants and their supporters not allow the results of the primary election to divide them or abandon the party.

The chairman asked the party members to be in unity in order to come out more united and stronger in the subsequent political contests.

APC adopted the direct mode for the conduct of the primary which held on Saturday.

However, due to some irregularities a rerun was ordered on Sunday in the 13 wards in Okitipupa Local Government Area of the state.

Aiyedatiwa was declared winner amidst protest by some of the aspirants who criticized the conduct of the primary election alleging violence and none arrival of materials and officials in some wards.

There was also a protest on Sunday by supporters of some of the aspirants at the APC secretariat in Akure, who called for the cancellation of the exercise.

( NAN)


Load more