2024 BET Awards: Burna Boy bags two nominations

CDEB99D4-DC18-4E72-AA52-65ACE2D07DE1

Burna Boy at 02 Arena concert

By Taiwo Okanlawon

Award–winning Nigerian singer, Damini Ogulu, popularly known as Burna Boy has secured two nominations at the Black Entertainment Television BET Awards for this year.

The organizers of the annual BET Awards have announced the nominations for the 2024 BET Awards, with African global stars making a significant impact.

The ‘City Boys’ crooner was nominated in two categories, including Best Male R&B/Pop Artist and Best Male Hip Hop Artist respectively.

This double nomination shows Burna Boy’s dominance in both the Hip-Hop and R&B/Pop genres. He is also going up against big names in the industry like Drake, Usher, Chris Brown, Kendrick Lamar, Future, Gunna and the likes.

Burna Boy has previously won BET Awards for Best International Act in 2019 and 2020.

He is no stranger to the BET stage. However, these nominations mark a significant achievement in his career as he receives nominations in these categories for the first time.

Last year, Burna Boy failed to win in any of his seven nominations at the 2023 BET Hip-Hop Awards.

Related News

Tyla, Tems, Ayra Starr, Focalistic, Davido, Lojay, Asake, Tyler ICU, and Seyi Vibzs have all received nominations across various music categories.

Some of the global stars have also secured major slots in the ‘Best International Act’ category, with Asake, Tyla, Ayra Starr, and Focalistic earning four nominations in this prestigious category.

Africa’s young queens, Tyla and Ayra Starr, shine bright with three nods each. Both artists have secured nominations in the ‘Best New Artist’ and ‘Best International Act’ categories.

Additionally, Ayra Starr received her third nomination in the ‘BET Her’ category for her global hit song “Commas”, while Tyla earned her third nomination in the ‘Viewers’ Choice Award’ category with her worldwide chart-topper “Water”.

The “BET Awards” 2024 will air live on Monday, 1 July 2024, at 2:00 am WAT/3:00am CAT on BET Africa DStv Channel 129 and GOtv Channel 21. The awards’ pre-show will air at 1:00am WAT/2:00am CAT, with a repeat of the awards ceremony at 18:00 WAT/19:00 CAT.

Voting for “BET Awards” 2024 Viewer’s Choice Award begins June 6, 2024, and ends June 30, 2024, at 6:30 PM PT/ 9:30 PM ET.

Culture’s biggest night, “BET Awards,” has been the #1 cable award show among all adults 18-49 for the last three consecutive years and is the #1 cable award show among Black adults 18-49 for the 22nd consecutive year (CY02-CY23).

Check out the full nominations for the awards HERE.

Load more