Oko-Jumbo-led 3-member Rivers Assembly confirms 8 commissioner designates


Hon. Victor Oko-Jumbo: factional Speaker of Rivers House of Assembly.

The Victor Oko-Jumbo-led three-member faction of Rivers House of Assembly on Tuesday screened and confirmed eight nominees for appointment as commissioners in the state.

The faction that is loyal to the state Governor, Siminalayi Fubara screened the nominees at the temporary legislative chambers located within the state Government House.

The commissioner designates are to fill some of the vacancies created by the recent resignation of nine commissioners loyal to the Federal Capital Territory Minister, Chief Nyesom Wike.

During the sitting, Oko-Jumbo read the correspondence from the governor, requesting the screening and confirmation of the nominees.

He expressed the assembly’s commitment towards supporting the governor to provide democracy dividends to Rivers people.

The factional speaker said that the screening was part of the assembly’s responsibility in the governance of the state

Related News

Responding, the House Leader, Mr Sokari Good-boy, and Deputy Speaker, Adolphus Timothy, unanimously adopted the request.

They said that most of the nominees had previously served the state in various capacities without blemish.

The commissioner designates include, Mr Charles Bakee, Mr Collins Onunwo, Dr. Peter Medee, and Mr Elloka Amadi,

Others are, Mr Basoene Benibo, Mr Sydney Gbara, Dr Ovy Chukwuma and Mr Solomon Eke.


Load more