Amuwo Odofin Donates GCE Forms To Indigent Students


The Amuwo Odofin Local Government, last week, gave out 600 free GCE forms to indigent students of the local government area.

During the exercise, Comrade Ayodele Adewale, the local government chairman, urged the beneficiaries to be serious with their studies, especially during the forthcoming GCE examination.

According to him, “the forms that are being donated to you were procured with the tax payers’ money. I therefore charge you to justify the confidence which this administration reposed in you by being serious minded. Your parents and your teachers have tried their best for you. Therefore, try to attain the best by studying hard for the examination so that you do not become hangers-on in future.”

The local government boss, who admonished the students to expand their thoughts by reading newspapers and journals, however, urged them to shun cultism on campus, rather, they should join reputable social clubs like Rotaract, Jaycee or Students’ Union, which, he said, is the most veritable platform for attaining greater heights in life.

Related News

He, however, advised that they should get ready to take active part in politics once they attain the age of 18, stressing that “you must not run away from politics as soon as you clock 18. It is the people that will determine whether you are capable of holding elective position or not. But you must first of all go and register, protect your voter’s registration card jealously and on election day, stand at the polling booth in order to protect your vote so that we can enjoy the way we are enjoying Action Congress of Nigeria in Lagos and Edo states.”

Present at the occasion were Oba Mobadenle Oyekan, the Onilado of Ilado; Oba Olayinka Ado, Alado of Ado Kingdom, Comrade Jola Ogunlusi, President, FESTAC Town Residents’ Association; Mrs. Julianah Afolabi, Iyaloja General, Amuwo Odofin; Alhaji Olowo Shittu, President, Egbe Omo Oduduwa; Busola Akeredolu, National Organising Secretary, Action Congress of Nigeria, USA and notable politicians, among others.

—Dedeigbo Ayodeji

Load more