Youth Leader Wants Rewane, Okotie-Eboh Honoured


An Itsekiri Youth Leader, Prince Oyemi Fregene, has faulted the non-inclusion of two  prominent Nigerians of Delta State origin in the Federal Government’s honour list.

Those missing from the post-humous awards list are: the late Chief Festus Okotie-Eboh,  post-independence Minister of Finance and the late detrabilised politician,  industrialist, philantropist, Chief Alfred Ogbeyiwa Rewane who was assassinated during the  struggle for the enthronment of democracy in Nigeria and the de-annulment of June 12,  1993 presidential election won by Chief MKO Abiola.

“It is sad, unthinkable and should be condemned. It is unacceptable to all right-thinking  Nigerians for the names of these great Deltans to be omitted from such democratic  recognition of Nigeria at 50,” he said.

Related News

Prince Fregene posited that the office of the Secretary to the Government of the  Federation should please use the opportunity of Nigeria’s independence anniversary to  make necessary amendment before 31 December, 2010.

“The SGF’s office is supposed to be a true custodian of such facts and history,” he  added.

Load more