Clubs At War, As 12 Teams Do Battle In Alani-Ope Cup


Twelve football clubs across Lagos State are set for the first edition of U-12 Shamsideen Alani Ope  soccer championship which begins today at the Julius Berger Euro 65 playground along Oshodi-Mile II  Express Road.

The opening match will be played between Smart Striker FC of Oke-Aro and Adejumo Babes FC of Ijora.

The competition is sponsored by the president of Eko Club, Prince Shamsideen Alani Ope and organised  by the Lagos State Grassroots Soccer Association.

In the fixtures made available to GSG, group A consists of Smart Striker of Oke-Aro, Adejumo Babes of  Ijora, Ajo FC of Ajegunle and Damilola Taylor Academy of Ebute-Metta.

Clubs that will slug it out in Group B are Prince FC, Ketu; Aparo FC, Epe; Okon FC, Iju and All Stars  FC, Agbado Ijaye.

Group C is made up of Otta Warrior of Sango-Otta, Akogun FC of Oshodi,  Jokers Stars of Lagos Island  and FC Robo of Mushin while group D comprises All Stars of Epe, Bora FC of Egbeda, United Stars of  Badagry and Glory FC of Ikotun.

The cup donor, Alani Ope, told GSG that he is sponsoring the under-aged competition  because of the  passion he has for the round leather game when he was in school.

According to Ope, he is  also given his support in order to   contribute his own quota to sports  development in the state.

Related News

He, therefore, charged other sports philanthropists and corporate bodies to sponsor a developmental  programme that will empower  youths and where  coaches can discover new talents for the state.

“Nigerian youths need to be empowered through sports so that the high rate of crime will reduce  drastically. The competition will help the young lads to exhibit their talents and will give coaches   an opportunity to scout for players that can be  nurtured  to stardom,” said Ope, who promised to  grace the opening match today.

Ope charged the participating teams to desist from vices that can bring the competition into disrepute  and warned the organisers to work round the clock for the success of the tournament.

“I want to advise the participating teams and organisers to work together for the success of the  competition. I want all the clubs to be treated equally throughout the tourney. I wish the teams best  of luck in their outings,” he said.

The chairman of the  organising commiittee, Samuel Omolayo, assured the cup donor better organisation  and officiating. He said they are ready to give their best and promised to provide   maximum security  during and after the game.

The winners will go home with the sum of N100, 000 and a giant trophy, the first runner up will pocket  N75, 000 while those in the the third and fourth positions will be given  N50, 000 and N25, 000  respectively.

  Copyright protected by Digiprove © 2011 P.M.News