How Ajimobi of Action Congress Sacked Governor Akala


With  fifty  armed soldiers and policemen, providing security cover, the deciding votes in Oyo State from Ibadan South West were unfurled at  6:30pm, with the  ACN winning with 46,695 votes followed by PDP with 18,641  and Accord with 17,436.

It was the last rite in the arduous task of compiling the result of Tuesday’s governorship election in Oyo state, southwest of Nigeria. But the ultimate outcome did not fulfil the wish of the incumbent Adebayo Alao Akala.

According to  Professor Olufemi Bamiro, the returning officer,  the  Action Congress Candidate, Abiola Ajumobi  got 420, 852 votes  to defeat the  PDP Candidate and incumbent, who got 387,132. A former governor of the state, Rasheed Ladoja who ran on the platform of the  Accord Party got  275,773 votes.

Other results are, AD 5, 763, ANPP 4, 925, APGA 1,700, APS 1,040, CPC 15,797, FPN 620, LP 2508, MPPP820, NCP 1,442, NTP 2,168, RPN 362 and UNDP 929.

Related News

Profesor Bamiro stated that for any candidate to win, he must not have less than 25 percent in at least 22 local government saying that Ajimobi has 25 percent of 26 local government while PDP has 22. After the party representatives signed the result,  Bamiro at 7.20 pm  declared Senator Abiola Ajimobi as the winner of the election and  the governor elect of the state.

Professor Bamiro disclosed that total number of registered voters in the state was  2,651,842 and  total valid votes 1, 125,090.

The result of the election has now effectively brought five  states in South western Nigeria—Oyo, Ogun, Ekiti, Lagos and Osun, under the political control of the Action Congress. The sixth state, Ondo, is being controlled by the Labour Party.

By Gbenro Adesina/Ibadan

Load more