Governor's Cup: ITF Closes Entries 29 September


International Tennis Federation, ITF, has given all players wishing to take part in the 11th edition of the Governor’s Cup Lagos Tennis Championship till Thursday, 29 September to file their entries or forget about the tournament.

The competition, which is sponsored by FCMB and Etisalat, will hold at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan, from 15-30 October. P.M.Sports’ checks on the website of the world tennis governing body revealed that the tourney with the keys W-C25-NGR-01A-2011 for the women’s events and M-FU-NGR-03A-2011 for the men’s category will be played on hard court.

The ITF says that while entries close on 29 September, withdrawal deadline is fixed for Tuesday, 4 October.

The competition, which annually draws tennis players from more than 40 countries of the world with over 200 taking part, will have 32 draws on the Main Draws and 32 draws on the Qualifying Draws for both Futures 1 and 2. The winners in the Men’s Singles is expected to take home $30,000, while in the women’s category, the winner will get $50,000.

The Men’s Singles of the first leg of the 10th edition held last year was won by Amir Weintraub of Israel who beat Karan Rastogi in straight sets of 6-4,7-5, while the Women’s Singles was won by Slovak Zuzana Kucova who defeated her French opponent, Natalie Piquion in straight sets of 6-2,6-0.

Related News

The duo of Amir Weintraub and Boy Westerhof walked over Laurent Rochette of France and Diels Desein of Belgium to win the Men’s Doubles, while the pair of Nina Bratchikova of Russia and Agnes Satmari of Romania beat Anna Brazhnikova of Sweden 6-4, 6-3 to win the Women’s Doubles.

The second leg of the Men’s Singles was won Indian boy, Karan Rastogi, who upset South African Raven Klaffner in a game that ended 6-2, 6-7, 7-5. In the Women’s Singles, tournament favourite, Slovak Zuzana Kucova was stopped by Russian Nina Bratchikova in straight sets game of 7-5,6-1.

In the doubles finals, the pair of Boy Westerhof and Amir Weintraub beat Raven Klassen and Ruan Roelofse in 5-7, 6-4 (10-6) in the Men’s category, while women event was won by Karolina Kosinka and Melaine Klaffner after defeating the duo of Nina Bratchikova and Agnes Szatmari in 3-6,7-5(10-7) match.

Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola, the Asoju Oba of Lagos, Chief Molade Okoya Thomas, CEO of Etisalat, Mr. Steve Evans and representative of the Managing Director of FCMB, Mr. Peter Obaseki were some of the dignitaries that graced the closing ceremony.