Lagos Schools Set For 4th Tertiary Games


The organisers of the Lagos Tertiary Games say the participating institutions have started preparation ahead of the championship which runs from 26 October till 3 November.

A Local Organising Committee (LOC), made up of representatives of all the participating institutions, and relevant sports associations, are expected to organise the tourney, which is being  facilitated by the Office of the Senior Special Assistant (SSA) on Grassroots Sports Development to Governor Raji Fashola headed by Prince Wale Oladunjoye.

Among the institutions expected to feature in the weeklong tourney are University of Lagos, Lagos State University, Nigerian Army School of Finance, Lagos State Polytechnic, Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education, Yaba College of Technology, School of Fisheries and Marine Technology.

Others are Michael Otedola College of Education, Federal College of Education (Technical), Nigerian Institute of Journalism, Grace Polytechnic, Ronik Polytechnic, Caleb University, Imota, Wave Crest School of Catering and Hotel Management, Ansal ud-Deen College of Education, Wolex Polytechnic and Lagos City Polytechnic.

The participating institutions will be competing for honours in Athletics (100m, 200m, 400m, 4x100m, 4x400m), Basketball (men and women), Soccer (men), Beach Soccer (men), Table Tennis (singles-men and women), Volleyball (men and women) and Beach Volleyball (men and women).

The chairman of the Local Organising Committee, LOC, Prince Oladunjoye told P.M. NEWS that the participating schools have intensified preparations ahead of the championship.

Related News

He disclosed that this year’s edition will be more competitive considering the fact that some institutions have started early preparation so as to surpass their last record at the Tertiary Games.

Lagos State Polytechnics, won the 2011 edition with 6 gold, 4 silver and 8 bronze medals and the winners were given N3.3m as well as giant trophies and medals for their efforts.

University of Lagos came second with 5 gold, 3 silver and 7 bronze and they won N2m, Lagos State University, LASU came third with 4 gold, 4 silver and 4 bronze medals, the athletes received N1.810m, while Yaba College of Technology, came fourth with 4 gold, 5 silver and 3 bronze medals and the athletes were proud winners of N1.735m.

Trophies are for the institutions, while medals and cash awards are direct benefits to all the winning athletes. This has always been stated clearly when disbursing to all the lucky institutions.  In 2011, 1,189 students/athletes participated for the 17 institutions in the last tournament.

—Sunday  Akintoye

Load more