Governor's Cup: Spaniard, Romanian Win Titles Again


Taiwo Adelu

Saturday, 27 October was a day of glory for both Enrique Lopez-Perez of Spain and Cristina Dinu of Romania when they were celebrated as winners of Men and Women’s Singles in the grand finale (Futures 2) of the 2012 Governor’s. Tennis Championship in Lagos, Nigeria.

Perez, who won the Men’s Singles of the first leg, scaled all hurdles to the final of the second leg of FCMB/Etisalat Nigeria sponsored ITF pro circuit at the Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Onikan.

The Spanish player beat South African Ruan Roelofse in straight sets of 6-0,6-4 in the final watched by Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola of Lagos, his counterpart from Delta, Emmanuel Uduaghan, Chief Executive Officers of FCMB, Ladi Balogun and Etisalat Nigeria, Steven Evans, President of Nigeria Tennis Federation, NTF, Engr, Sani Ndanusa, President of Lagos Lawn Tennis Club, Barrister Sam Egbuchulam, schools children from at least 26 Secondary Schools in Lagos and a host of others.

Related News

In the Women’s Singles, Romanian Dinu, who also won the first leg defeated Switzerland’s Conny Perrin in straight sets of 6-2,6-3 to beat all others to the women’s crown.

The final of the Governor’s Cup this year was spectacular with a lot of activities. Governor Fashola played an exhibition match against the CEO of FCMB, Ladi Balogun, which he lost 0-2, but won the one he played against President of the NTF, Engr. Ndanusa 1-0.

The closing ceremony was climaxed with the presentations of trophies to the winners of the singles events and their runners up, as well as winners in the doubles events in both the Men and Women’s categories.

The Governor’s Cup, which reached its 12th edition this year, has been an ITF approved $80,000 prize money competition.

Load more