The much awaited  2012 Lagos State House of Assembly Speaker’s Cup soccer championship begins today at various centres.

At the Agege Stadium, Ifako-Ijaiye LCDA will confront  Iba LCDA, while Badagry West will battle Mushin Local Council as Ifelodun LCDA take on Imota LCDA at the Campos Sports Centre, Lagos Island.

The draws for the preliminary round of the  Grassroots soccer tournament was held recently inside the chamber of the Lagos State Assembly.

A total of 32 local government areas and local council development areas will participate in this year’s championship with the Lagos Junior League teams vying for the new Speaker’s Cup. The tourney is organised by the House in conjunction with the Lagos State Ministry of youth, Sports and Social Development.

Speaking at the draw ceremony, Chairman Organising Committee, Deji Aladegbemi expressed confidence that they will stage a unique tournament.

Aladegbemi revealed that the sixth edition of the championship will see the winners pocketing the sum of N700,000; second place team will get N400,000; while the third and fourth place teams get N300,000 and N150,000 respectively.

The Lagos State Commissioner for Youth, Sports and Social Development, Wahid Enitan Oshodi, commended the House Committee on Youth, Sports and Social Development for preserving the competition and its value. He added that the Speaker’s Cup will help the development of football in Lagos  State.