Governor Ajimobi appoints six judges



Governor Abiola Ajimobi of the western Nigerian state of Oyo has approved the appointment of six new judges into the state judiciary.

A statement issued in Ibadan on Wednesday by the state Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Bayo Ojo, said that the appointment was sequel to the recommendation of the National Judicial Council (NJC).

The new judges, according to the commissioner, include the Chief Registrar of the state High Court, Mrs. O. O. Olatunji, Mr. Bayo Taiwo from the Federal Ministry of Justice, Abuja and the immediate past Vice-Chairman of the Ibadan branch of the Nigerian Bar Association, Mr. Lekan Owolabi.

Related News

Others are Mr. G. A. Sunmonu, Mrs. O. M. Fadeyi and Mr. E. O. Ajayi, all Ibadan-based private legal practitioners.

The appointment of the new judges, whose swearing in will be performed by Governor Ajimobi on 27 May, has brought the number of judges in the state judiciary to 22, while more judges may still be appointed before the end of the year.

The last time judges were appointed into the state judiciary was ain 2006.

Load more