Yobo returns to Nigeria's Super Eagles for Mexico

Joseph Yobo

Ex-Super Eagles' Skipper, Joseph Yobo

Super Eagles’ Head Coach, Stephen Keshi, has listed skipper Joseph Yobo in his squad of 23 for the international friendly against Mexico in Atlanta, USA on Wednesday, 5 March.

Yobo, who is back in the keenly-followed English Premiership, this time with Norwich City, on loan from Fenerbahce FC of Turkey, last played for the African champions at the 29th Africa Cup of Nations in
South Africa, which Nigeria won.

Also returning are Israel-based defender Juwon Oshaniwa, 2014 African Nations Championship Most Valuable Player Ejike Uzoenyi and Canada-based striker Bright Dike.

Supper Eagles' Skipper, Joseph Yobo
Supper Eagles’ Skipper, Joseph Yobo

New faces include former junior internationals Ramon Azeez and Shehu Abdullahi, and Belgium-based strikers Imoh Ezekiel and Michael Uchebo. Centre – back Kunle Odunlami, who made CAF’s list of Best Eleven at
the recent African Nations Championship in South Africa, is also called.

Regulars such as goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama and Austin Ejide, defenders Elderson Echiejile, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe and Kenneth Omeruo, midfielders John Mikel Obi and Ogenyi
Onazi, and forwards Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike and Obinna Nsofor will also fly to America.

Related News


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille FC, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel
Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco FC, France); Efe Ambrose (Celtic
FC, Scotland); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe
(Warri Wolves); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Juwon
Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Joseph Yobo (Norwich City, England);
Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (SS
Lazio, Italy); Ramon Azeez (Almeria FC, Spain); Shehu Abdullahi (Kano
Pillars); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle
United, England); Victor Moses (Liverpool FC, England); Emmanuel
Emenike (Fenerbahce FC. Turkey); Obinna Nsofor (Chievo Verona, Italy);
Bright Dike (Toronto FC, Canada), Imoh Ezekiel (Standard Liege,
Belgium); Michel Uchebo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium)