House of Reps Defection: APC now has 181 members, PDP 156

House of Reps

House of Representatives members

House of Representative members
House of Representative members

Six Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members of the House of Representatives on Tuesday defected to other political parties particularly that of the main opposition party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

With the latest defections, APC now has 181 members, the highest number of lawmakers in the House. It is followed by PDP with 156 members and other political parties, 23 members.

NAN reports that the membership of the House released on January 14 after the defection of 10 lawmakers to various political parties showed that APC had 179 members, PDP, 162 while other parties had 19.

The Speaker, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal, who also dumped the PDP for APC announced the defection of the members during the House’s plenary in Abuja.

Aminu Tambuwal: dumped PDP for APC
Aminu Tambuwal: dumped PDP for APC

The members who defected are Micah Umoh and Robinson Uwak, both from Akwa Ibom, who defected from Accord Party to All Progressives Alliance (APC), respectively, and Ibrahim Garba from Jigawa, who defected to APC.

Related News

Others are Tobias Okwuru and Peter Ali, both from Ebonyi, to Labour Party, and Chinenye Ike from Abia, to All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA).

Based on this development, the Deputy Minority Leader, Abdulrahman Kawu (Kano), raised a point of order, saying that APC members should occupy the positions of House Leader and Deputy House Leader.

Similarly, Kawu said the positions of the Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip should also be occupied by the APC in accordance with the rules of the House.

However, the Speaker, Aminu Tambuwal, ruled that the matter should not be discussed as it was before the court.

Load more