Amosun pardons 17 Prisoners in Ogun

Amosun- copy

Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State

Gov. Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun on Thursday granted amnesty to 17 prisoners serving various jail terms in the state.

He also commuted the death sentences passed on four other prisoners to life imprisonment.

This is contained in a statement signed by Juwon Soyinka, his Senior Special Assistant on Media in Abeokuta.

He said the gesture was part of activities marking the 2016 Democracy Day and June 12 remembrance anniversaries in the state.

According to him, the governor’s gesture is in line with the power conferred on him by the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999, as amended.

Related News

He added that it is an exercise of the governor’s power to grant prerogative of mercy to convicts as conferred by the constitution of the country.

The beneficiaries granted pardon include Wale Ibidapo Ogungbade, Emmanuel Obi, Oshilaru Abiodun, Wasiu Raimi, Abiola Samuel, Obi Moses, Abiodun Odedele, Ojo and Wasiu, Lateef Bello.

Others are Dosu Sunday, Kayode Ogunsawo Sunday Agbehi, Stephen Kolade, Saburi Adebayo, Lekan Shodiya, Ogunsanya Segun and Tolani Ajayi.

The four prisoners on death row whose sentences were commuted to life imprisonment are Akeem Fatai, Nnamdi Osuagu, Sunday Oloyede and Idowu Okanlawon.