From Super Eagles to Fennec Foxes: Incredible nicknames of 24 AFCON teams

Hosts Cameroon a.k.a The Indomitable Lions

Hosts Cameroon a.k.a The Indomitable Lions

Football teams from twenty four African nations will begin the battle to win Africa’s most coveted trophy, the Africa Cup of Nations, on Sunday in Cameroon.

Hosts Cameroon are looking to win back the glory they tasted back in 2017 while defending champions Algeria hope to retain their title won in the 2019 finals.

Nigeria similarly hope to increase its trophy tally to four.

All the 24 AFCON teams bear incredible nicknames with three sides paying tribute to lions – and another three to eagles.

Here are the teams and their nicknames:

Cameroon: The Indomitable Lions

Burkina Faso: The Stallions

Cape Verde : The Blue Sharks

Ethiopia: The Walia ibex, after an endangered species of ibex found only in their northern mountains.

Senegal: The Lions of Teranga

Zimbabwe : The Warriors

Guinea: The National Elephants

Malawi: The Flames.

Morocco: The Atlas Lions

Ghana: The Black Stars.

Related News

Gabon: The Panthers

Comoros: The Coelacanths, after a now-rare order of fish.

Egypt : The Pharaohs

Nigeria: The Super Eagles

Sudan: The Falcons of Jediane,

Guinea-Bissau: The Djurtus, after the African wild dog.

Algeria: The Fennec Foxes

Ivory Coast : The Elephants

Sierra Leone: The Leone Stars

Equatorial Guinea: The National Thunder.

Tunisia: The Eagles of Carthage

Mali: The Eagles.

Gambia: The Scorpions

Mauritania: The Lions of Chinguetti, after a trading centre, north of the country.

*Adapted from the report by Rhys Daly of Daily Star.

Load more