Senate leader Abdullahi scores zero in Kebbi APC governorship primary

Senator Yahaya Abdullahi

Senator Yahaya Abdullahi

By Ibrahim Bello/Birni Kebbi

Senate majority leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi scored zero on Thursday at the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress in Kebbi.

The National President of the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Dr Nasiru Idris, emerged the party’s governorship candidate with 1,055 votes out of the 1,090 votes cast.

Alhaji Abubakar Gari-Malam, who polled the remaining 35 votes placed second.

The Returning Officer and Chairman, APC National Monitoring Committee, Alhaji Idris Yahuza, declared the results at the end of the exercise.

Related News

Idris expressed joy at his victory and at the smooth conduct of the primary election and thanked his supporters and the entire APC family in Kebbi.

Idris was NUT Chairman from local government to state levels, and currently its national president.

He is also Deputy National Chairman of the NLC.

Notable Kebbi APC chieftains who witnessed the election were Gov. Atiku Bagudu, Sen. Adamu Aleiro, Sen. Bala Ibn-Na’Allah, Sen. Muhammadu Magoro, Sen. Yahaya Abdullahi, the Senate Leader; and Deputy Governor, Alhaji Samaila Yombe-Dabai.

Others included the Minister of Justice and Attorney- General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, SAN; members of the House of Representatives and members of the state’s House of Assembly.

Load more