INEC declares APC's Oyebanji winner of Ekiti governorship poll

Oyebanji 1

Biodun Oyebanji

The All Progressives Congress (APC) Governorship candidate, Abiodun Abayomi Oyebanji has won Saturday’s governorship poll in Ekiti State by a landslide.

Oyebanji polled 187,057 votes to defeat Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who came second with a distant 82,211 votes. Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came third with 67,457 votes.

The APC candidate won in 15 of the 16 Local Governments in Ekiti State.

The Returning Officer, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Kayode Adebowale said Oyebanji, having polled the majority of votes has been declared winner of the Ekiti governorship election.

In Ijero LG, Oyebanji polled 13,754 votes to defeat Segun Oni of the SDP, who scored 5,006 votes, while the PDP’s candidate, Bisi Kolawole polled 4,897 votes to come third.

Others and their votes are: A-08, AAC-32, ADC-96, AEP-201, APGA-33, APM-16, APP-82, LP-16, NNPP-48, NRM-17, PRP-87, YPP-59 and ZLP-18.

Also, Ojebanji defeated Oni in Emure LG, polling 7,728 as against 3,445 votes scored by Oni, while PDP got 2,610 votes.

Others are: A-4, AAC-15, ADC-81, ADP-92, APGA-14, APM-16, APP-70, LP-13, NNPP-13, NRM-19, PRP-24, YPP-41 and ZLP-12.

In Ekiti Southwest, Oyebanji polled 9,679 votes to beat Oni, who scored 4,577 votes. Kolawole got 4,474 votes to come third.

Others and their scores are: A-3, AAC-22, ADC-100, ADP-195, APGA-24, APM-10, APP-170, LP-14, NNPP-30, NRM-33, PRP-43, SDP-4577, YPP-41 and ZLP-26.

Oyebanji also won Ikere LG, polling 12,086 votes to defeat PDP’s Kolawole, who got 3,789, while ADC came third with 3,764 votes and Oni came fourth with 1,943 votes.

In Ilejemeje LG, the APC candidate polled 4,357 votes to win the council, while Oni ‘s SDP got 2,344 and PDP, 1,157 votes.

Related News

In Moba LG, APC won by scoring 11,609 votes to beat SDP which got 4,904 votes and PDP, 3,530 votes.

The Kolawole’s PDP defeated Oyebanji’s APC in Efon Alaye LG, garnering 6,303 votes as against 4,012 votes polled by APC and 339 votes by SDP.

In Ekiti West, APC won by a wide margin, scoring 15,322 votes while SDP came second with 3,863 votes and PDP, 3,386 votes. In Irepodun Ifelodun LG, APC won with 13,125 votes, while SDP came second with 5,010 votes and PDP, 4,712 votes.

In Oye LG, the APC polled 13,396 votes to defeat SDP, which scored 5,391 votes and PDP, 4,122 votes. In Ido-Osi, APC polled 10,321 to win the poll, while SDP scored 9,489 votes to come second and PDP, 2,871 votes.

APC also won Ise-Orun LG, scoring 8,074 votes, while SDP got 5,909 votes and PDP, 2,588 votes. APC got its biggest votes in Ado-Ekiti LG, garnering 23,831 votes, while SDP polled 15,214 votes and PDP, 7,575 votes.

In Ikole LG, APC polled 16,417 votes to win the council, while PDP scored 6,266 votes to come second, while SDP got 5,736 votes.

Also in Gboyin LG, APC won by scoring 11,247 votes, while SDP scored 4,059 votes and PDP, 3,947 votes. In Ekiti East, APC polled 12,099 votes to claim the council, while PDP polled 5,230 votes and SDP, 4,982 votes.

Ekiti Governorship Election Results at a glance



Load more