Lagos lifts suspension on NURTW, disbands Parks and Garages Committee


Middle; the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, Engr. Abdulhafiz Toriola flanked by the right by  the former National President of the Union and Chairman Transition Committee, Alhaji Najeem Yasin, Acting General Secretary, NURTW (National), Comrade Kayode Agbeyangi, Reinstated Chairman, Lagos Chapter NURTW,  Alhaji. Musliu Akinsanya, (Mc Oluomo), Director, Transport Operations, Ministry of Transportation, Engr. Olasunkanmi Ojowuro and other Members of the National NURTW during the courtesy call to the Ministry of Transportation.

The Lagos State Government has lifted suspension on the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW), State chapter and disbanded the Parks and Garages Committee set up to hold forth.

The state government had in March 2022 suspended the activities of NURTW from parks and garages in the state and set up a committee to carry out its activities.

Engr. Abdulhafiz Toriola, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, disclosed this on Friday during a courtesy visit to the Ministry of Transportation by the Union leaders.

Former Chairman of the disbanded Lagos State Parks and Garage Committee, Musiliu Akinsanya, popularly known as MC Oluomo, has being reinstated as chairman of the NURTW, Lagos State Chapter.

The lifting of the suspension followed weeks of mediation between the National Committee and the Lagos State Chapter of the NURTW by the Lagos State Government.

Toriola said the State and the national bodies of the union have reconciled with a resolution for a peaceful co-existence.

Toriola stated that the state government has done the needful to ensure further peaceful resolution between the National Chapter and State Chapter of the Union by lifting the suspension placed on the Union over a year ago.

Related News

The Transport Permanent also lauded the executives of the Lagos State Parks and Garages Committee for holding forth while urging the Union to maintain peace and operate within the ambit of their constitution as they commence transition back to NURTW.

Former national president of the Union and chairman, Transition Committee, Alhaji Najeem Yasin applauded the efforts of the state government and the Ministry in the resolution process.

He assured the state government that the union would continue to be in supports of the law and the development of the State.

The reinstated Chairman, MC Oluomo thanked the state government and the national executive of the NURTW for their support and assured the State of the Lagos Chapter’s cooperation.

The members of the National body present include; Comrade Aliyu Issa Ore, Alhaji Hassan Haruna and Comrade Kayode Adeyanju while others from the Lagos State Parks and Garages include Alh. Sulaimon Ojora, Comrade Olayiwola, Comrade Ibrahim Yusuf, Shittu Ganiyu, Yinka Hassan, Moshood Omojuwa ,Agoro Ismaila , Akeem Tijani Salami


Load more