Fashola Nominates 37 For Commissioner


Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos state Friday night said he has sent a list of cabinet members of his government to the state House of Assembly for screening and ratification.


The list, it was learnt, contains a mixture of politicians and technocrats. Some of those who made the list were part of the governor’s first term which expired 29 May, this year.


Members of the immediate past cabinet who have been considered by the governor for re-appointment include the former Commissioners for Budget and Economic Planning, Ben Akabueze, and his Ministry of Health counterpart, Dr. Jide Idris.


Others include former Commissioner of Science and Technology, Obafemi Hamzat, Special Adviser on Works, Engr. Ganiyu Johnson, Special Adviser on Business District, Oyin Danmole.


Related News

Segun Oniru who was in charge of Waterfront; Gholahan Lawal, who was Special Assistant, on Special Projects; Kayode Opeifa, who was Special Adviser on Transport; Ade Ipaye, who was in charge of Taxation, and Prince Rotimi Oyekan, who was in charge of Finance, Babajide Sanwoolu, who was Commissioner of Establishment, Pensions & Training Commissioner also made the list.


Also on the list which may be considered by the House of Assembly this week are former Environment Commissioner, Tunji Bello; former Mushin Council Chairman, Seye Oladejo, former member of the state House of Assembly, Gbolahan Lawal Ojora, Dr. Wale Ahmed, Mrs Ranti Adegbile, Tokunbo Abiru, Mrs Derin Disu, Ademoorin Kuye, Ayo Gbeleyi, Gbolahan Badmus, and former House of Assembly aspirant in Surulere Constituency, Tokunbo Odutola.


Former Chairman of Mushin Local Government, Mr. Seye Oladejo; Mr. Bosun Jeje; and former Publicity Secretary of the state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party, Dr. Wale Ahmed, former Deputy Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon. Adetoun Adediran; former Commissioner for Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation under the Tinubu Administration, Chief (Mrs.) Kemi Nelson; former Local Government and Chieftaincy Commissioner, Rotimi Agunsoye; former Special Adviser on Commerce and Industry Sola Oworu; former Information and Strategy Special Adviser Segun Ayobolu; former Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice Supo Sasore (SAN) and Agboyi-Ketu Local Council Development Area Chairperson, Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke also made the list.


The House had embarked on a one-week break last Friday, but a it was learnt that with the list available to the Speaker, Adeyemi Ikuforiji, the House would reconvene this week.
By Eromosele Ebhomele